My Social Media Outlets

These days, it seems that everyone you know is signed up for at least one social media account, including but not limited to Facebook, Twitter, Myspace, Tumblr, FourSquare, or one of the many other social media outlets that are available to us. Personally, I can’t think of a day where I haven’t signed into at least one of my social media accounts in the past two years. In fact, for the past two and a half years, I have been an iPhone user and as a result, a frequent Facebook and Twitter application user.

As for which social media site I use the most, I would have to say it’s a definite tie between Facebook and Twitter. However, I use both of these accounts for different reasons. To me, Facebook is where I go to look at my friends’ pictures, check out local (usually school related) events, and connect with long distance friends. I can learn more about what my friend who goes to school in Pittsburgh has been up to by looking at her Facebook page than I would if I sent her a few texts during the day. In fact, I originally signed up for Facebook because my older sister began going to school in a different state and I needed a way to keep up with her new life and friends without staying on the phone with her for an hour every day.

Interestingly enough, my sister was also the reason why I originally signed up for my Twitter account and began using it to connect with friends. However, as time grew, I began to use Twitter as more of a means of public information than a way to personally connect with friends. Actually, when I took my first Public Relations class last semester, I began to see how useful Twitter would become in my future career as a journalist and/or PR professional.

The third social media account I have (other than this WordPress blog), is on Tumblr. Tumblr is an interesting concept to me because it works like a blog, except most people (at least myself and my friends who also have accounts) use it to essentially post pictures and animated GIFs of topics or people that we are interested in. I personally follow random Tumblr accounts I found of people that seem to have the same taste in art, television, and film as I do, and often just re-blog the pictures that they post. I like to look at it as a time capsule of sorts that I will be able to look back on in the future, and see what I was interested in at this moment in time.

3 Comments

Filed under COMM 4333, Topic of the Week: COMM 4333

3 responses to “My Social Media Outlets

  1. Hello! Tumblr sounds like a pretty cool site to log on to. Twitter still has not got me hooked yet, although I can foresee that changing due to this course. I have heard many people say that they get connected via Twitter. Facebook is great for photos and keeping up with friends- you know, the usual. But I wonder how long it will be relevant? MySpace had a similar audience. I guess only time will tell. Thanks for sharing! God bless, Angela

  2. I recently got a Tumblr and have since fallen in love with it! It’s kind of like multiple social media sites rolled into one beautiful site. “A time capsule,” that’s an interesting way to look at it. I can only imagine that types of social media that will be out in the future.

  3. I’ve always wondered how tumbler worked, it seems like a pretty cool site to check out! It’s interesting reading everyone’s favorite social media outlets. I find it so hard to keep up with all the accounts that I have and seems to stay loyal to the ones I’m most comfortable with like facebook. Thanks for sharing your favorites!

Leave a Reply

