Get Your Chat On, With Twitter Chats!

Last night I participated in a public relations Twitter chat, #PRStudchat, led by Lauren Gray. At first, I was a little confused as to how the process of a Twitter chat worked. However, I was quickly able to catch on and join in on the conversation. What I enjoyed so much about the chat was that it was so easy to keep up with. I used my iPhone and the Twitter application to participate and was able to just keep refreshing the search for “#PRStudchat” when new questions and answers had been given.

I have heard, written, and talked a lot about networking in PR and honestly thought I had the hang of it until doing this Twitter chat. I realized that Twitter chats were a part of social networking that I had never tried before, and it seems to be the best way to connect with and meet PR professionals and other PR students.

From Abigail Silvester's Flickr photostream

 

The most exciting part about the #PRStudchat for me was that I got retweeted by the leader of the conversation! When asked for what I would look for in an employer, I tweeted, “I look for employers with good values and track records with past employees.” It was pretty amazing to have someone acknowledge something that I said among such a large group of students and professionals.

One of the most valuable things about Twitter chats is the fact that you get a wide range of opinions and ideas, sometimes things that you would have never thought of on your own. I personally can’t wait to participate in another chat and look forward to meeting more “PR peers” in the future!

If you’d like to take part in the #PRStudchat, they are every Wednesday at 8:30 p.m., just search all tweets for “#PRStudchat” and look for the questions as they come up on the time line. When you want to answer, make sure you respond with the hashtag #PRStudchat and Q# (#=which number question you’re answering).

Leave a comment

Filed under COMM 4333, Topic of the Week: COMM 4333

Leave a Reply

